When creating a new workflow, you can now decide whether subscribers complete your Workflow when they reach the end, or have them hold there until you add additional steps in the future—all this without any dummy email steps or placeholders.
How to make your subscribers complete and exit your workflow?
Let them finish your workflow by reaching the Exit step. 🙌
What is the Exit step and how to use it?
The Exit step gives you the flexibility to decide whether your subscribers should exit a workflow and be marked as completed when they reach the end, or instead, have subscribers hold at the end of the workflow until future steps are added.
Important: Subscribers who reach the Exit step at the end of a workflow or workflow branch will be set as completed and won’t receive any new additions. This action cannot be undone.
How to add an Exit step to your workflow?
Note: The Exit step is only available for selection at the end of a workflow or branch. It will not show as an option for steps added between other steps.
At the end of your workflow, click on the + sign to add a new step
Subscribers who reach this step will finish the workflow and be marked as completed.
How to remove an Exit step and keep building your workflow?
If you want subscribers to hold at the end of your workflow so you can add additional steps for them in the future, simply remove the Exit step from its end as follows:
Hover over the Exit step
Click the ‘X’ in the top right corner
On the Delete step popup module, click on Yes.
Removing this step will prevent active subscribers from completing the workflow when they reach the end. They will remain on hold until you add additional steps.
What happens with legacy workflows?
If you have a Workflow that was created before this change, you'll notice that Exit steps have been added to the end of all your existing Workflow branches. The new Exit steps reflect all subscribers who have previously completed your Workflow.
If you'd like subscribers who are still actively going through your workflow to finish it and be set to completed when they reach the end, no changes need to be made. You're all set!
If you'd like active subscribers to wait at the end of your Workflow until you add additional steps in the future, you can delete the Exit step.
Important: Once a subscriber has finished a Workflow and been set to completed, this action cannot be undone. I.e. they cannot become “uncompleted”.
While you can delete the Exit step from your workflows and continue building your workflow with new steps to your heart’s desire, new steps that are added will only be available for new subscribers or those that are still active in the workflow.
Exit step in your Workflow Analytics
In your Workflow Analytics page, you’ll find subscribers who reached the Exit step and completed your workflow under the 'Completed' column of the At a glance view.
By switching to the Details tab, you can see each individual step in the Workflow and its statistics—among them the Exit step.
By clicking on the number on the card, in our example 189, you can go a level deeper and see the completed subscribers’ email addresses and when they exited your workflow.
Let’s sum it up!
You can keep adding new steps to your Flodesk workflow at any time and build them to your heart’s desire. Subscribers will hold at the end of the workflow until future steps are added.
If you still want your subscribers to complete and exit a Workflow, finish it with an Exit step. Subscribers who reach this step will finish the workflow and be marked as completed.
More to learn:
We'd love to hear about your recent experience when searching for solutions to issues in the Flodesk Help Center (Knowledge Base). With your feedback, we can improve our knowledge base with new and better ways to help you succeed!
Please do not submit support tickets and feature requests via this feedback form.
If you need technical assistance, please submit a support ticket via email at
support[at]flodesk.com mentioning your Flodesk account login email with a detailed description of your problem.
Do you have an idea for a feature that will help improve Flodesk for you and other members? Our Product team would love to hear from you.